Haiti Medical Missions — Clinic Day 4


Ta fidélité est grande
Ta fidélité est incompatable
Nul n’est comme toi, 
Oh Seigneur
Grande est ta fidélité

–Haitian worship song

Today was our last full day of clinic! We were united once again with an (almost) full staff of providers (except for Steve, Rick and Bill), and saw, treated and prayed for about 260 patients, including several who had cyst/mass removals. Though we saw some cool cases in clinic (like a staph carbuncle! and classic presentations of juvenile diabetes, sickle cell anemia, and rheumatoid arthritis; apparently sickle cell is called ‘anemia falciprum’ in Haiti), the highlight of the day was just after 4:30pm, when we closed clinic and went downstairs to join the members of New Life Church (the church we are working at). 

To be able to worship God with our DR coworkers, worship with the members of New Life and worship in three different languages during New Life’s worship service–words cannot describe how surreal it felt. We got a glimpse of the powerful cross-cultural worship on Tuesday, but tonight we also worshiped with some of the people who we treated downstairs! It was so incredibly awesome to hear the voices of Dominicans, Haitians and Americans reverberating throughout the small fellowship hall. It was a wonderful reminder that God’s love has absolutely NO barriers, be it language, race, or otherwise. In Christ, we were not (at least) 5 different ethnicities—we were ALL God’s beloved children. As the pastor pointed out, it was a glimpse of what we can look forward to in Heaven–all the nations worshiping together as ONE. Plus, the Haitians were so active about their worship! From belting out notes to dancing in place, their worship was enough to make ME feel like I was worshipping through watching them (if that makes any sense at all) 🙂

The experience reminded me of a patient I talked to who we’ll call Jean. When asked whether she knew about Christ, Jean said yes, but further questioning revealed that though she wanted to accept Christ, she was afraid to…because she didn’t have any clothes to wear to church. My translator, Rolder, and I were extremely touched. We immediately explained to her God’s unconditional love. After all…when Jesus came down on earth, He did not go to the rich and healthy, but to the sick. In God’s eyes, all of us are imperfect. The beauty of the gospel is that if we believe in Jesus, we are covered by His perfection. We are beautiful in God’s eyes; we can receive Christ regardless of our circumstances. As we explained this to Jean, tears filled her eyes (and mine). Oh, praise the Lord… Jean ended up receiving the Lord today. Please pray that she’ll get involved with a church and sustain her faith! 


Speaking of interviewing, yesterday was my first day somewhat interviewing patients on my own, with Don acting as my ‘attending’. Don is one of the quickest thinkers I know. I had shadowed on Monday and Tuesday and had an idea of how to interview for the common complaints we had, but to be able to think on the spot for a differential diagnosis, especially for something you haven’t seen, is a whole other ballpark. Though it was a bit intimidating, Don and the other doctors were a GREAT help. Big shout out to them for letting me and Summer interview patients!

Yesterday’s experience helped me feel a lot more comfortable interviewing and praying with patients today. Additionally, I am blessed with some awesome translators (on both days) who were SO eager to share the gospel with our patients who were willing to hear! Their passion definitely encouraged me to be more bold about sharing with patients too. My translator today was this linguistic genius who found out I knew Chinese, so we ended up spending a lot of our breaks with me teaching him Chinese words haha. Got to admit–he’s really good! xD

Can’t believe the week’s almost over already!! A couple other scattered thoughts:

1. I’m surprised at how much Creole I can understand during the interviews! Though I could NEVER stand alone with a patient, I’ve been able to catch words now and then as the patients explained their complaints. It is true that Creole is a lot like French, so praise God I was able to come with a French background. I actually got a patient today who knew a little English (!), and it was funny because then I got confused about how I should ask him things and whether I should use my translator (since he could understand some words I said, but not all) and we ended up just using the translator haha. 

2. One thing I think God has been teaching me on this trip is how to be humble. I am surrounded by such incredible, yet SUPER humble people. Their talent and genius is evident in their actions; not by lofty words. I need to learn from these people. God, please help me make walking in humility come naturally; help me make it my identity. 

3. We were supposed to bring gifts for our translators, and one of our team members, Darcy, made a calendar with GORGEOUS landscape pictures she took around her home in Oregon. It looked straight out of a professional, published calendar!!! Adding to my bucket list: a visit to Oregon 🙂


Tomorrow we’ll have clinic until 11am, then leave for DR. Please keep our border crossing in your prayers, for no flooding, delays, or recalcitrant officials!

Other prayer requests:

For the people we saw today, especially those who prayed to receive Christ—that they can keep their hope in Christ and get plugged into a church or community here.

For our team member Dave, who will be leaving tomorrow afternoon from Port-au-Prince  to return to the states.

For the people at the Church, that they will be equipped and have the strength to continue nourishing the surrounding community.

I shall leave you with some pictures of clinic and our amazing worship tonight 🙂 

The massive patient line


Ex of a staph carbuncle + scabies infection in a 4 yo child


New mother with a 3mo baby. SO PRECIOUS!!! ❤


Our ‘waiting area’
Summer and I with our ‘attending’, Don,
and translators (Descolines and Rolder) xD
worship with the haitian church!






Leave a Reply

